September 23, 2009

  • Bok Tower Wedding Photos, Lake Wales Florida

    Danielle & Eric’s wedding was simply gorgeous, and we definitely had an absolute miracle with respect to weather.  It was 100% predicted to rain every single hour of the day, a couple Saturday’s ago.  Somehow, magically, mid-day the rain stopped and gave us an entire afternoon without more than a couple drops of mist.  Bok Tower is a wonderful wedding location that I would just LOVE to photograph at again some day!  It’s venues like this that I’d offer a big fat discount to brides with good enough taste to pick such a location…

    The cloudy light was dreamy and soft, and I had the dreamy-soft bokeh of Eric’s superb 35 1.4 L at my disposal. 

    But, I’ll let the images do the talking!


    Images were shot on a Nikon D300 and a Canon 5D mk1, using the Sigma 50-150 2.8 lens on the D300, and the Canon 17-40 L or 35 1.4 L on the 5D mk1.  The very first shot was taken with a Sigma 150mm 2.8 Macro on the D300, on a tripod, with gelled off-camera flash coming from the right.

    =Matt=

Comments (17)

  • I love seeing these on Xanga…biggger, better images!
    Facbook is like drinking nonfat milk, it’s just not the same

  • So , lets hear the story behind the group shot

  • Michelle and I are jumping for joy that you are switching to wordpress! FINALLY!!!

    Oh, nice pics by the way :)

  • @Hanssie Trainor - Better stop jumping.  For now, my opinion is still that WordPress customization BITES and I see no reason to switch, considering that Xanga seems to be doing okay with SEO.

    Maybe I’ll switch to WordPress when I have the money for a “Prophotoblog” with the nice user-friendly interface, and the money to pay someone to customize my brand look.  But until then, I just don’t have the time, let alone the patience, to dig through any more CSS code.

    =Matt=

  • These pictures are gorgeous as always, Matt!  If you do another wedding at Bok, I’d love to be a second shooter for you. . .

    By the way, you might want to look at the templates by Tofurious.  There are a few free ones that are nice and the pay ones are still very inexpensive.

  • @Phyllis Helton - Hi Phyllis,

    Believe it or not, matthewsaville.com/blog did indeed begin as a Tofurious WordPress template.  My issue is, my own branding “look”, the customization of which requires lots of CSS script editing which I am just burnt out on right now.  And the Tofurious templates don’t have their own stand-alone, user-friendly design interface like the Prophotoblogs templates have.  (Google them and watch their design videos.  The concept is, you can completely change the design of your blog without writing a single line of code.  Which is what I need, and what I’ll be saving up for…

  • Matt, the photos are amazing. Excellent capture on the light stixs. I have to say that the one where they’re doing the lean over kiss thing is a really creative pose. Nice location too, oh and I love the wheather and the clouds.

    - Stephen.

  • Gorgeous Matt!  I looked at these pics with Mary on facebook…but so much nicer here.  From a non-photographer..your style is so beautiful, love the color, romance, tone, and look so much.  It helps to know the family too  

  • You rock my socks dude.
    For real.

    Longer, more awesomer comment / testimonial coming soon.

  • @MatthewSaville - In other news, let me get my design team to help with your wordpress problems… Sound good?

  • Oh, and another… haha hooray minis!

  • You have no idea just how much I love this post – thanks for sharing Matt. :)

  • My new hero! Consider yourself stalked! HA! Seriously speaking..I LOVE your work. I wish I lived closer to take a class from you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on anything technical. I’ve found that many won’t and while I’m still in training mode that just stinks..ya know? So thanks Matthew! I’ll be around your blog more often now that I’ve found you.

    …M…

  • @hannahleephotography - @Miriam Lima - 

    Thank you so much for your warm words!  I’m so happy that the images make people feel that way.  Truly!

    =Matt=

  • DANG DUDE! When did you explode with such talent???  I haven’t been checking Xanaga now for most of this year. Your artistry is amazing!  There was not one single image I wouldn’t be buying if I was this couple. Love the one when they are walking away after the ceremony, looks like its right out of a fairytale. BEEEE-Utiful!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *