Month: March 2009

  • Fujichrome RVP50… It’s been FAR too long…

    It has been WAY TOO LONG since I have sung the praises of film.  Yes, film, the stuff you all donated to archaeology last year when you bought your 5D mk2′s and D700′s?  That camera that doesn’t have an LCD screen on the back so you can immediately check your exposure and your histogram?

    This roll of Fuji Velvia 50 passed through my ’82 FM2.  I shot mostly with my 24mm prime, sometimes I shot with my other prime – a 50mm.

    All images are STRAIGHT from the scanner, with three clicks of black point compensation.

    I’m not foolish enough to think that 35mm is *better* than digital.  I just lament that digital will never hold the same magic a slide can.  Not for me.  There’s just *nothing* like holding that positive up to the light and having those colors, real and true,  take your breath away…

    I know that someday I will own a 24 megapixel D700X and it will become the only camera I can ever take a *serious* landscape photo with.  But nothing will replace the SOUL of film.

    “LONG LIVE VELVIA!!!”

    =Matt=

  • Bridal Shoot at MUZEO in Anaheim…

    WOW, what an AWESOME photo shoot!!!

    Two or three days ago I got the call from a partner in crime – Professional photographers needed- to shoot bridal portraits at a new wedding venue in Anaheim, CA

    Well, since I’d been driving up to Anaheim every day that week, I figured I might as well make it four days in a row!  Except this time I didn’t go to Disneyland for a corn dog…

    I have to say, I would LOVE to photograph a wedding here; the grounds have some amazing opportunities for gorgeous light, and the museum has infinite, creative opportunities that I only wish I could have had more time to photograph…

    MANY thanks to the awesome people who made this possible!

    The kind staff at MUZEO, of course,

    Lorena at Palomaya Divine Celebrations,

    The flowers were from Ngoc Kimmie Lu and “Diamonds and Pearls Affair

    The makeup was by Toni at “All Dolled Up

    The stage / ambient lights were courtesy of Amber Yin,

    The (wind / brass?) instruments were from ABI Music,

    And the tables and things were from Big Top Rentals.

    Of course my BIGGEST thanks is owed to Alice for being the lead photographer, (and letting me come!) and to Hanssie for even thinking I’m qualified to invite!

    Alright I’d better get back to work!  The days are just PACKED.  (T-minus FIFTEEN days!  Wow!!!)

    =Matt=

  • Ambient Light Portrait of Model…

    As much as I’m enjoying experimentation with flash and diffusion, there’s still nothing quite like finding a patch of beautiful ambient light…  (Illuminating a beautiful subject, of course.  Thanks, Karin!)  …Alright I’d better get to sleep soon; gotta get up at the crack of dawn tomorrow to go out to Anza Borrego  for an all-day photo adventure!

    Nikon D300, Sigma 50-150 2.8, 150mm @ f/2.8, RAW, Bridge CS3…
    (Subject was in the shade of a tree, with overcast light coming from behind the camera and also falling on the background a bit…)

  • More Models and Umbrella Diffusion…

    Last Wednesday I  experimented for the 2nd time with my 45″ shoot-through umbrella.  (ella.  ella..)

    I’m really loving the look of such diffused light sources.  I wish I could use multiple, highly diffused lights on all my photo shoots now!  Okay, well, what I wish is that I had more free time to experiment.  I’m a very firm believer in evolving your personal style over time; and trying new things.  But it’s also very easy to get excited and go leaping down a path that really isn’t “YOU” in the long run.  So we’ll see how things progress.  I’m definitely still enjoying the outdoors, and portraits in the outdoors to be more specific…

    Thanks Dustyn for modeling in this shot!

    You know the drill-  D300, 17-55, pop-up flash used to command off-camera SB800.  (diffused with umbrella held on my tripod cuz a light stand don’t work in places like this!)

    Take care,
    =Matt=

  • Random Epiphany…

    Every now and then I get these miniature, totally random epiphanies about things.  I have my addiction to photography forums to thank for  this condition, actually.  I very strongly believe that you learn by teaching.  Or to be less cliche, but more verbose- putting enough energy into creating a worthwhile answer to a serious question will often cause us to, well, have an epiphany.  We realize something that we’ve obviously known all along in our subconscious, and that “ah-ha!” is part of what helps us do better next time.

    Anyways I was thinking about one of the stereotypes of the photography industry, one that is quite relevant in the wedding photography industry in particular…  The stereotype of hiring an assistant / 2nd shooter, and then having that other photographer go behind your back and “steal” a referral that “should have been yours”…  Even those who are not professional photographers, I’m sure you know what I mean, or at least you can imagine the stereotype that might surround this.

    The logical “answer” to such a problem is, duh, to sign a contract with all your 2nd shooters etc. that dictates how a 2nd shooter should conduct themselves.  Obviously I don’t need my assistants passing out their own business cards at a wedding  where they’re assisting ME.  That’s crazy, and downright disrespectful!  And in general, I’d expect an assistant to speak highly of me to other wedding guests, refer them to me if they’re in the market, etc. etc.

    But then I got to thinking, what about after the wedding?  Does a 2nd shooter become fair game?  I mean surely a bridesmaid can hunt down ANYBODY they want on facebook etc.  Then I got to thinking again-  Ya know, I’m fine with that.  If I’m out of someone’s price range, or if my style of photography is just not what they’re looking for, then why would I try and force myself on that client?  I wouldn’t.  Then, I got to thinking one last time…  For what *other* reasons might a client be “going behind your back”???  Aren’t most all the possible reasons indicative that YOU the primary photographer have bigger issues to deal with?   Is your assistant taking better pictures than you?  Ouch.  Does your assistant have a better personality / attitude than you?  OUCH!!!!!!  In either case, it seems to me like you’ve got WAY bigger fish to fry than going after an assistant for one measley booking they stole.

    I shoot weddings for Blue Shoe Photography with my good friend Eric a few times a year.  We always work as such a team, a unit, that whenever there is talk of future weddings, it’s always “gosh, we need to get Eric and Matt to shoot our wedding too!”  The same thing with all the 2nd shooters I’ve had assisting me at my weddings-  If we work as a team, and both have a positive, friendly attitude, anybody who sees us working together (and is getting married soon themselves) will automatically think of us BOTH.  As a team.  What a great position / status!

    Hopefully anybody who has been in business for some time is thinking “well duh, this is just basic logic!”  …I know!  But doesn’t it help to keep things fresh in our minds, instead of cluttered somewhere in the back of our subconscious?  I don’t know about you, but writing these things down really helps me do a better job of living by them…

    Take care,
    =Matt=

    (How they managed to build such a structure without a single modern-day crane continues to amaze me…)
    Seville, Spain; October 2008  -  Nikon D300, 17-55 @ 17mm, hand-held, RAW image processed in Bridge CS3. 

  • Dirt Jumping in South OC

    I haven’t ridden in a long while.  Surprisingly, I can still “go big”.  A little bit.  I do have a lot of fun taking pictures of everybody else, after I’ve beaten myself up sufficiently enough… 

    The saga of my dead car continues-  I need to donate it ASAP, but I actually have a fix-it ticket for a busted headlight.  I fixed the headlight, but now I can’t even drive the car to the CHP office to get them to sign off on it.  VERY interesting situation, to say the least…

    Take care,
    =Matt=

    Nikon D300, Nikon 17-55, wireless SB800 on gorillapod, commanded by pop-up flash.
     Manual exposure & flash, K-WB, JPG capture, minor black point tweak in Bridge CS3…